College Football Awards: USC’s Caleb Williams named AP Player of the Year

USC quarterback Caleb Williams was named The Associated Press college football player of the year Thursday, becoming the school’s first winner of the award since 2005 with his stellar debut season for the Trojans.

Williams received 32 of the 46 first-place votes and 117 total points from AP Top 25 poll voters to win the award presented by Regions Bank. The Heisman Trophy favorite finished well ahead of TCU quarterback Max Duggan, who came in second with six first-place votes and 64 points.

Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud was third, with Tennessee’s Hendon Hooker in fourth and Georgia’s Stetson Bennett fifth.

Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr., the first repeat SEC Defensive Player of the Year, was the only non-quarterback in this year’s top eight vote-getters, finishing sixth after coming in fourth last season.

[Heisman Trophy preview: Key questions around each finalist]

Williams, Stroud, Duggan and Bennett are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, the winner of which will be crowned on Saturday. 

Several other awards have either been handed out already or will be in the next couple of days, including a collection of them on Thursday evening. Here’s the latest:

AP Player of the Year
Winner: Caleb Williams, QB, USC

Williams passed for 4,075 yards with an FBS-leading 37 touchdowns and just four interceptions this season, completing 66.1% of his passes while winning the Pac-12′s Offensive Player of the Year award. He also rushed for 372 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Defensive player of the year, judged by FWAA)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama

Anderson dominated the SEC in his junior season, racking up a conference-leading 10 sacks and 17 tackles for loss, despite facing frequent double-teams. He also notched his first career interception, which he returned 25 yards for a touchdown.

Lombardi Award (Outstanding college football lineman)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year, judged by Maxwell Club)
Winner: Will Anderson, Jr., LB. Alabama

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)
Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Duggan wasn’t even TCU’s starter at the beginning of the season, yet he led the Horned Frogs to the CFP, passing for 3,321 yards and 30 touchdowns along the way. He’s the school’s first player to win the Davey O’Brien Award, which was named after the former TCU star.

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Top upperclassman quarterback)
Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Doak Walker Award (best running back)
Winner: Bijan Robinson, Texas

Robinson rushed for a career-high 1,580 yards and 18 touchdowns this season, ranking fifth and fourth in the nation, respectively, in those categories. He also caught 19 passes for 314 yards and two touchdowns, a versatility that might have given him an edge over fellow finalists Blake Corum (Michigan) and Chase Brown (Illinois).

Belitnikoff Award (outstanding receiver)
Winner: Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee

Hyatt was a key to the Vols’ high-powered offense, catching 67 passes for 1,267 yards and an FBS-leading 15 touchdowns. He was also at his best on the biggest stage, going for 207 yards and five touchdowns in a win over Alabama.

John Mackey Award (outstanding tight end)
Winner: Brock Bowers, Georgia

The 6-foot-4, 230-pounder caught 52 passes for 726 yards and six touchdowns for the undefeated Bulldogs. He also ran the ball six times for 93 yards and three more scores.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)
Winner: Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU

The nephew of former TCU and NFL star running back LaDainian Tomlinson was a force at his cornerback position this season, notching 42 total tackles (including two tackles for loss), three interceptions and 11 passes defensed.

Butkus Award (Top linebacker)
Winner: Jack Campbell, Iowa

Campbell was everywhere for a dominant Hawkeyes defense this season, racking up 115 total tackles, 3.5. tackles for loss and two interceptions.

William V. Campbell Trophy (Academic Heisman)
Winner: Jack Campbell, LB, Iowa

Rimington Trophy (outstanding center)
Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, Michigan

Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman)
Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, C, Michigan

Paul Hornung Award (Most versatile player)
Winner: Jack Colletto, LB, Oregon State

Wuerffel Trophy (Community service award)
Winner: Dillan Gibbons, OL, Florida State 

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year)
Winner: Adam Korsak, Rutgers

The Australian averaged 44.0 yards per punt this season, including one that sailed 77 yards.

Lou Groza Award (outstanding place-kicker)
Winner: TBD

Maxwell Award (player of the year)
Winner: TBD

Joe Moore Award (Top offensive line)
Winner: TBD

Ted Hendricks Award (Top defensive end)
Winner: TBD

Eddie Robinson (Coach of the Year, judged by FWAA)
Winner: John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State

Broyles Award (Top assistant coach)
Winner: Garrett Riley, OC/QB coach, TCU

Burlsworth Trophy (Top former walk-on)
Winner: Stetson Bennett, QB, Georgia

Read more:

Get more from College Football Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more