Which Electric Vehicles Qualify for Federal Tax Credits?

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Which Electric Vehicles Qualify for Federal Tax Credits?

The Treasury Department on Thursday published a partial list of new electric and plug-in hybrid cars that will qualify for tax credits of up to $7,500. The list is expected to be updated over the coming days and weeks.

The credits will apply to sedans that cost no more than $55,000 and sport-utility vehicles and pickup trucks that cost up to $80,000. In addition, only buyers who earn less than $150,000 a year as an individual or $300,000 a year as a couple can claim the credits.

The list could change in March, when new rules take effect that require automakers to use battery raw materials and components from North America or a trade ally. Those rules are still being formulated and it’s not clear exactly when they will start to apply.

Here are the cars on the list, by automaker:

Ford Motor

  • Ford Escape Plug-in Hybrid

  • Ford E-Transit

  • Ford F-150 Lightning

  • Ford Mustang Mach-E

  • Lincoln Aviator Grand Touring plug-in hybrid

  • Lincoln Corsair Grand Touring plug-in hybrid




  • Chrysler Pacifica plug-in hybrid

  • Jeep Wrangler 4xe plug-in hybrid

  • Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe plug-in hybrid